Skagit Land Trust logo

Conserving wildlife habitat, agricultural and forest lands, scenic open space, wetlands, and shorelines for the benefit of our community and as a legacy for future generations.

Land Trust News

2022 Annual Membership Meeting

Community Award Recipients

Blue Heron Award

Tim Manns

Tim has done extraordinary work with the Land Trust over many years. He has been a Land Steward at Barney Lake for over two decades, is a current Board Member, the Trust’s Secretary and serves on the Land and Public Policy committees. Tim assists with creating our conservation area interpretive displays and volunteers for many bird-related projects, including recently leading tours at Barney Lake Swanrise events.

Land Department Award

Jim Glackin

Jim was recognized by the Land Department for going the extra mile for the Trust, time and time again. Jim, a past board president. Remains on the Land and Governance committees. He represents Skagit Land Trust on the Farmland Legacy Board. His decades of experience as a real estate professional, and willingness to help with the nitty-gritty of land acquisition projects, has been invaluable.  His technical real estate skills combined with his deep knowledge of the community have helped us solve the stickiest of real estate issues.  

Stewardship Award

Terry Armstrong

Terry has become a regular fixture at our volunteer stewardship events. He’s participated in 30 of the 36 work parties that the Trust has hosted since September, totaling well over 100 volunteer hours. His time and effort have been instrumental to the success of a wide range of projects this past year. Terry always shows up ready to work and with a smile on his face. It doesn’t matter if it’s rainy or sunny, if the work party is on Guemes Island or upriver in Marblemount, or if we’re planting trees, grubbing blackberries or carrying heavy gear for the March Point camera project. Terry is up for it.

Community Engagement Award

Guemes Island Community

It takes a community to sustain a Trust property. The Trust recognized the Guemes Island Community for their continued support, dedication, and stewardship of Guemes Mountain and Valley and Kelly’s Point. Many people from the Island contribute their efforts to manage invasive species, plant trees, improve & maintain trails, build benches and a myriad of other tasks. Guemesians act as Land Stewards, document the wildlife, haul gravel and mow grass - dedicating hundreds of hours of their time to care for the land.  

Dave Peterson is Professor of Forest Biology at the University of Washington, and Emeritus Senior Research Scientist with the U.S. Forest Service. He has conducted research on climate change and fire science throughout the western United States and has published 270 scientific articles and four books on these topics.

Dave was a contributing author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which was a co-recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. He was also the co-lead for the Forests chapter of the Fourth National Climate Assessment. He currently works on climate change assessments and adaptation on federal lands in the western United States. Dave lives in Skagit County, where he manages Mountain Heart Tree Farm.

**RSVP Below**

Board Members up for election or reelection

Skagit Land Trust's Board is responsible for ensuring the organization’s performance in respect to the mission and objectives of the Trust and for the stewardship of financial resources. The Directors are accountable to members, key stakeholders and the community in general.

Jim Glackin - Real Estate Broker, Windermere Real Estate. Member of Skagit County Conservation Futures Committee (Farmland Legacy Program). A graduate of the University of Massachusetts, Jim enjoys hiking & backpacking. He joined the Board in 2016.

Mark Hitchcock - Retired forestry consultant and resident of Skagit County for more than thirty years. Recipient of degrees in forest science from University of Washington and Yale University. Previously served on boards of Skagit Land Trust and Skagit Conservation District. Mark currently serves as President of the Trust's Board.

Kirk Johnson - Retired Senior Planner for Skagit County. Kirk has a degree in political science from Lewis & Clark College, and master’s degree in public administration from University of Washington. Previously served on the board of Skagitonians to Preserve Farmland. Kirk has been a member of the Skagit Land Trust Public Policy Committee since 2017.

Kathy Thornburgh - Kathy has a degree in botany and plant ecology from the University of Tennessee and a master’s degree in marine ecology from the University of Washington. She has worked as a preserve steward for The Nature Conservancy, a habitat biologist for Alaska Department of Fish and Game, ran a water quality lab for the Tulalip Tribes, and retired after 20 years with Snohomish County working on water quality and environmental monitoring, public education, and habitat stewardship. She is an avid bicyclist and volunteers as a certified bike safety instructor with the League of American Cyclists. She is an active Master Gardener and serves on the Skagit County Master Gardener Foundation Board. Kathy currently serves as Vice President of the Trust's Board.

Keith Wiggers - One of three Skagit Land Trust founders. Former president of Skagit Audubon Society. Retired veterinarian. Joined the Board in 1992.

Related Pages